Big Bash League 2017 – 18 Schedule and Team News

big bash league 2017

After BPL and RamSlam T20 leagues we have another big league and this time from Australian side. Big Bash League is Australia’s fast and furious domestic T20 cricket competiton. The tournament begins on 19th December and concludes with Finale on 4th February. A total of 43 matches with 8 teams will be played in this season and this will be the 7th edition of the tournament.

2017-18 Big Bash League Teams

The eight teams that contest in the league are Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

Adelaide Strikers

The Adelaide Strikers were formed in the year 2011. The Strikers are based in the state of South Australia and represent Adelaide in BBl. They have not won any BBL title and this side will be lead by Travis Head. The Strikers coach is Jason Gillespie. They had a mixed season in 6th edition of BBl. They lost some key players like Kane Richardson and Ben Dunk but brought some worthy players like Ingram and Rashid Khan.

Adelaide Strikers Squad

Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Jono Dean, Travis Head(c), Colin Ingram, Ben Laughlin, Jake Lehmann, Rashid Khan, Michael Neser, Liam O’Connor, Peter Siddle, Billy Stanlake, Jake Weatherald, Jonathan Wells.

Brisbane Heat

. Brisbane Heat was found in the year 2011. Heat is one of the best teams in BBl. They are based in the Australian state Queensland. In the year 2012-13, second season of BBL, Heat won the tournament.In the last edition this side finished second in the league but wwere bounced in semi finals. This side will be lead by Brendon McCullum and their coach is Daniel Vettori. In this season they added Pakistani’s leggie Shadab Khan into their squad. Chris Lynn, who is well known for his dashing batting, will be sidelined in this season after a shoulder surgery.

Brisbane Heat Squad

Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Jason Floros, Sam Heazlett, Shadab Khan, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Lalor, Chris Lynn, Brendon McCullum (c),James Peirson, Alex Ross, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson.

Hobart Hurricanes

Hobart Hurricanes was founded in the year 2011. Just like Adeliade Strikers, Hurricanes also have not won any BBL title so far. In the last season they showed some poor performance and stood seventh in points table. George Bailey is the captain of this side and Gary Kirsten is their coach. They made some major changes in this season. They have appointed Kirsten as their new coach. Stuart Broad, Sangakkara and Tait are not a part of this team.

Hobart Hurricanes Probable XI

George Bailey (c), James Bazley, Cameron Boyce, Dan Christian, Hamish Kingston, Ben McDermott, Simon, Milenko, Tymal Mills, Tim Paine, Jake Reed, Sam Rainbird, Tom Rogers, Clive Rose, D’Arcy Short, Beau Webster

Melbourne Renegades

Melbourne Renegades was also formed in the year 2011. Along with Strikers and Hurricanes they also have not won any title so far. Melbourne Renegades have not had a lot of success and even they continued the same in the previous edition also. They made into semis only once and it was in second season of BBL. This team will be lead by Aaron Finch and their coach is David Saker. They lost Peter Siddle to Sydney Sixers and James Pattinson was injured. In addition to them they added Kane Richardson and Jack Wildermuth.

Melbourne Renegades Probable XI

Dwayne Bravo, Tom Cooper, Aaron Finch (c), Marcus Harris, Brad Hogg, Tim Ludeman, Sunil Narine , James Pattinson, Kane Richardson, Matt Short, Chris Tremain, Matthew Wade, Cameron White, Jack Wildermuth

Melbourne Stars

Melbourne Stars was founded in the year 2011. They have not won any title in BBL but a very good as well as strong team.  They have never missed the finals, but have been known to fall short, never winning the competition and crashing out in the semi-finals on five occasions, including last year. In every season they reach to Semi Finals but they fall down there. In the 5th edition they were runner ups of the tournament. John Hastings in the captain for Stars and Stephen Fleming is the coach. This year they added Ben Dunk into their squad.

Melbourne Stars Squad

Michael Beer, Scott Boland, Jackson Coleman, Ben Dunk, James Faulkner, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Peter Handscomb, Sam Harper, John Hastings (c), Ben Hilfenhaus, Glenn Maxwell, Kevin Pietersen, Rob Quiney, Marcus Stoinis, Dan Worrall, Luke Wright, Adam Zampa.

Perth Scorchers

Perth Scorchers was founded in the year 2011. They are the most successful team in BBL historyby winning 3 championships and coming runners up twice. They were defeated by Brisbane Heat in their two finals. They won two consecutive seasons and Scorchers are only the first team to achieve this feat in the leagues history. They will start the tournament as defending champions. In 6th edition they won the final against Sixers. Adam Voges will lead this side and Justin Langer is the coach. No changes  in their squad and remains stable. They represent Perth in BBL.

Perth Scrochers Squad

Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Johnson, Michael Klinger, Mitch Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Joel Paris, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman, Adam Voges (c)

Sydney Sixers

Sixers was founded in the year 2011. They are perceived as biggest club in Sydney. They are first season champions of the league. The club have made into four finals so far and were runner ups in the last edition.Moises Henriques is the captain and Greg Shipperd is the coach. Their players are not yet confirmed and plenty of spots to be filled.

Sydney Sixers Squad ( Till Date)

Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Johan Botha, Ben Dwarshuis, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Nathan Lyon, Nic Maddinson, Peter Nevill, Steve O’Keefe, Jordan Silk

Sydney Thunder

Like other BBL team this team was also founded in the year 2011. Along with Sydney Sixers , Sydney Thunder are the successors of New South Wales.  The team performed poorly in its first years in the competition, finishing last in each of its first three seasons and second last in its fourth season. Surprisingly, in the year 2015-16, 5th edition of the league they were the champions. But once again they had a wooden spoon in their mouths in 6th season of the league. Shane Watson is the captain of this side and Paddy Upton is the coach. They lost Andre Russell for this season due to a rules violation, but did manage to bring in Mitchell McClenaghan.

Sydney Thunder Squad (Till Date)

Aiden Blizzard, Pat Cummins, Callum Ferguson, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Mitchell McClenaghan, Clint McKay, Kurtis Patterson, Ben Rohrer, Shane Watson (c)

[wpsm_comparison_table id=”4″ class=””]

So guys here are full details about schedule and squads. Hope u all like it and let us all meet in an another article. Goodbye!!!!


Big Bash League 2017 – 18 Schedule and Team News
Rate this post


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here